District expands language of anti-discrimination policy for students, employees

Marissa Salinas, News Editor

The Conroe ISD Board of Trustees recently updated the anti-discrimination policy, a move that protects students and employees from more forms of harassment.
The anti-discrimination policy now expands on gender and sexuality, adding various identities as protected classes.
The policy specifically expands on the term “sex” to now include discrimination based on “biological sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, gender stereotypes, or any other prohibited basis related to sex.”
“The changes to these policies included adding citations and language from a new federal court decision and incorporating new regulations relating to Title IX,” Carrie Galatas, head of the district’s legal department said.
Title IX is known as the education amendment, which is used to protect all people in the United States from any discrimination from the government based on gender, sex and sexual orientation when it comes to education programs or other activities that receives federal financial assistance.
“District does not discriminate against an employee or applicant who acts to oppose such discrimination or participates in the investigation of a complaint related to a discriminatory employment practice,” according to the employee handbook.
The district has designate and authorize the following as the Title IX coordinator to address any concerns about discrimination based on sex, or including sexual harassment.
“The policies explain what is prohibited behavior and how to file a complaint if a person believes he or she is a victim of one of these prohibited behaviors,” Galatas said.
The United States Supreme Court issued a 6-3 ruling in June that similarly expanded the language of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 that prevents employers from discrimination based on sex, which now includes sexual orientation and gender identity. Justice Neil Gorsuch, nominated by President Donald Trump, wrote the majority opinion, which included Chief Justice John Roberts and Justices Stephen Breyer, the late Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Elena Kagan and Sonia Sotomayor. Justices Smuel Alito, Brett Kavanaugh, and Clarence Thomas, all members of the Court’s more conservative side, dissented.
Any concerns about discrimination can be reported to the Department of Special Education Dr. Kendra Wiggins in person or by email, mail, or phone call during non-business hours.